“The Irresistibly Sweet Blog Award”

Thanks so much to the lovely and talented Summer Mahan for nominating my humble, little blog for “The Irresistibly Sweet Blog Award”. I’m honored, mainly because HER blog is so fabulous. Check it out at: http://herstorycalls.com/author/summermahan/

And to pass on the torch, there are a couple requirements…

Name 7 facts about myself:
1. I’m typing in my pajamas right now.
2. I’m addicted to reality television where there’s talent competition involved. i.e. So You Think You Can Dance, Project Runway (Mondo!), American Idol, Big Brother & Survivor (Ozzie!)
3. I’m a hometown sports fan. Love my Rockies and Broncos, and I want to pinch Tim Tebow’s cheeks. (Get as dirty with that as you want)
4. I love 80s flicks. My fave is Better Off Dead.
5. I write under another name. But it’s a secret (sort of). Shhh. Don’t tell anyone.
6. I don’t eat red meat or pork.
7. And, of course, I love reading hot romance novels. 

Now I get to nominate a few other worthy blogs. Check out:

Lynda Hilburn: http://paranormalityuniverse.blogspot.com/

Helen Hardt: http://helenhardt.blogspot.com

Lizzie T. Leaf: http://lizzietleaf.blogspot.com

ML Guida: http://www.mlguida.com/?page_id=16

Karen Docter: http://www.karendocter.com/blog/

Cynthia Woolf: http://cynthiawoolf.com/blog/

Amy Denim: http://amydenim.blogspot.com/

Paranormal Freebies: http://paranormalfreebies.com/

Also, I’d like to point to all the authors on my sidebar under Writers who Sizzle.  — >

Award of Excellence for Published Romance Writers!

2012 Award of Excellence Open now!

Sponsor:  Colorado Romance Writers

Fee:  $20.00

Receipt Deadline:  January 13, 2012

Eligibility:  Books published in 2011. Bound hard copies of e-books also eligible.

Categories:  Short Contemporary (60,000 words or less), Long Contemporary (over 60,000 words),
Historical, Romantic Suspense, Single Title, P/TT/F/F, Inspirational, Mainstream w/Romantic Elements, Erotic Romance.
Judges:  Readers, booksellers, published authors
Top Prize:  Award of Excellence Trophy and certificate; letter congratulating the editor.
FMI: For more information contact: Jessica Aspen (aoecoordinator1@yahoo.com). For entry forms and rules see: www.coloradoromancewriters.com

Permission to forward granted and appreciated.

Contest for Published Romance Authors

2012 Award of Excellence Opens October 1st, 2011 for entries

Sponsor: Colorado Romance Writers

Fee: $20.00

Receipt Deadline: January 13, 2012

Eligibility: Books published in 2011. Bound hard copies of e-books also eligible.

Categories: Short Contemporary (60,000 words or less), Long Contemporary (over 60,000 words), Historical, Romantic Suspense, Single Title, P/TT/F/F, Inspirational, Mainstream w/Romantic Elements, Erotic Romance.

Judges: Readers, booksellers, published authors

Top Prize: Award of Excellence Trophy and certificate; letter congratulating the editor.

FMI: For more information contact: Jessica Aspen (aoecoordinator1@yahoo.com). For entry forms and rules see: www.coloradoromancewriters.com

Permission to forward granted and appreciated.

Denver Lady Jane’s Salon Reading

I’ll be reading from one of my works at the Denver Lady Jane’s Salon tomorrow night.

A little info:

Date: Tuesday, July 12th, 2011

Time: 7:00pm-9:00pm

Location: The Wine Loft at LoDo (1527 Wazee St. Denver, CO 80202)

Note: While food and drinks are available, it is not required to order a meal or to drink wine in order to attend this event.

Special Summer Scorcher Erotica Authors:

Proxy reading of Tiffany Reisz

Marie Sexton

Lia Slater (Hey, that’s me!)

Entrance Fee: $5 cash or one gently used romance novel (proceeds go to Hope House of Colorado)

More info at: http://denverladyjanes.blogspot.com/

Contest for Unpublished Romance Writers!

From the Colorado Romance Writers’s President:

The Heart of the Rockies Unpublished Writer’s Contest deadline is tomorrow, 6/30/11. We are low in most categories. Please submit!!!

CONTEST FORMAT: 2011 Heart of the Rockies Contest

Sponsor: Colorado Romance Writers

Fee: $25 (CRW members) $30 (Non-members)

Deadline: June 30, 2011

Eligibility: Open to unpublished authors only

Entry: The first two chapters and a 1-5 page synopsis, 35 pages

total max. Save money on printing and postage! We are accepting

electronic submissions only!

Categories: Young adult, short contemporary, long contemporary, romantic suspense,

single title contemporary, historical, paranormal/time travel/futuristic/fantasy, inspirational,

and mainstream with romantic elements.

Judges: one published and one un-published author

Final Judges:

* Short Contemporary: Laura Barth, Associate Editor, Harlequin

* Long Contemporary: Charles Griemsman, Associate Editor, Harlequin

* Single Title: Stephany Evans, Agent, Fine Print Literary Agency

* Paranormal/Time Travel/Futuristic/Fantasy: Laura Bradford, The Bradford Literary Agency

* Historical: Sara Megibow, Associate Literary Agent, Nelson Literary Agency

* Romantic Suspense: Laura Baumbach, Editor, Passion in Print

* Inspirational Category: Julie Gwinn, Fiction Manager, B&H Publishing Group

* Young Adult: Megan Records, Associate Editor, Kensington Publishing

* Mainstream w/Romantic Elements: Kristin Sevick, TOR

FMI, entry form and rules, go to http://www.coloradoromancewriters.comhttp://www.coloradoromancewriters.com/  and select the Heart of the Rockies option from the Contests tab. You may also email the contest Coordinator Liz Pelletier at HOTRCoordinator@yahoo.com

Jen Maitlen

2011 CRW President

Published Author Contest – AWARD OF EXCELLENCE

My local writers chapter, Colorado Romance Writers, is holding its annual published author contest, the Award of Excellence competition. My book Fatal Exposure was a finalist in this contest last year, along with a group of awesomely talented writers. This year they’re low on entries (which means there’s a greater chance to win!). So I’m making a call out to all you published authors who had a release in 2010. Here’s your chance to final (or win!) in this prestigious contest.

Here’s the full scoop:

Published Authors!

The deadline for the 2011 Award of Excellence Contest is fast approaching! Don’t miss this opportunity to get your work in front of our judges, many of whom are new readers. This is a great chance to pick up a well-known award and get your name out there!

Book published in 2010 are eligible to enter in one of the following nine categories.
• Short Contemporary
• Long Contemporary
• Historical
• Romantic Suspense
• Single Title
• Paranormal/Time Travel/Fantasy/Futuristic
• Inspirational
• Mainstream w/romantic elements
• Erotic Romance

At this time, all categories may be viable but we are very low on entries in the Mainstream with Romantic Elements and Erotic Romance categories. Also the Romantic Suspense, Single Title, Historical, and P/TT/F/F categories are very light so far this year.

The fee is $20.00 per entry.
The entry deadline is January 7, 2011.

For details and entry forms, see our website at:

For more information, email:
* mailto:aoecoordinator@yahoo.com for authors with Short Contemporary, P/TT/F/F, or Mainstream titles.
* aoecoordinator2@yahoo.com for authors with Historical, Romantic Suspense, and Erotic Romance titles.
* aoecoordinator3@yahoo.com for authors with Inspirational, Long Contemporary, and Single Title titles.

Notes: Bound e-books are eligible. Judges include readers, booksellers, and unpublished/published authors. Top prize is a trophy, letter congratulating the editor, and a certificate.


Good luck!